1. Purity
  2. Tree, Tree, Tree -mori mori-
  3. Deal In Fantasy
  4. Viva! Lady
  5. Serene Night
  6. Ima Ima
  7. Fountains
  8. Inner Peace
  9. Golden Fields
  10. Continuing


MEGTARO is an instrumental band from Tokyo, Japan since 2015. The members are Megumi Otani(piano) and Kentaro Nakayama(drums). Basic format is piano and drums DUO style. Mostly MEGTARO performs member's original songs which are colorful, emotional, and peaceful with using jazz vocabulary. MEGTARO has a wide variety of projects such as piano and drums DUO, piano trio, trio with sax, vocal and tap dance, quartet and quintet. Moreover, the DUO has two albums "Arise"(2018) and "Newselves"(2020). Each song describes nature, special visual scene, member's experience and thought. 
 Megumi Otani is a professional pianist, composer and arranger. She started to play piano and Electone in YAMAHA when she was 3 years old. She became a winner of "Japan Junior Electone Competition 2004" when she was 15 years old. Since then, she started her career as a professional musician. Megumi's major style is jazz after graduating from Tokyo College of Music in 2012. Also her style makes her a versatile sideman such as Pop, R&B and Gospel keyboardist, a recording musician, a composer and an arranger of TV program and advertisement songs, and many others. 
 Kentaro Nakayama is a professional jazz drummer. In 2006, Kentaro accepted his scholarship and started to study jazz and contemporary music at Berklee College of Music. In 2010, Kentaro moved to NYC to start his career as a professional drummer after graduating from Berklee College of Music. During this time, Clarence Penn became his mentor. In 2014, he moved back to Japan and started his career as a leader of "MEGTARO". Currently his style is based on jazz but is flexible so that it becomes him a versatile sideman. On the other hand, he began to start his career as an educator for all kinds of drumming, especially jazz drumming, with 9 years of experience in U.S.A.

Artist page